180 Degrees: A Changed Woman

Norma McCorvey

Norma McCorvey

“The holocaust against the unborn is the greatest sin they could ever do or even ever participate in.”

Called the accidental activist, Norma McCorvey’s journey to becoming pro-life was quite unconventional. She was none other than the ‘Jane Roe’ in landmark case of Roe v. Wade 410 U.S. 113 (1973), where the United States Supreme Court flung open the floodgates for legalised abortion in the country. American women now had the ‘freedom’ to terminate a pregnancy at any point during the first 24 weeks.

McCorvey first tried to obtain an abortion in Texas first by claiming rape, but that failed because there were no police reports or documentation as evidence for her claim. Later she attempted to visit an illegal clinic, but also failed because the clinic had been shut down recently by the authorities. She tried to hire attorneys to help her sue for the right to an abortion, but the ones she was referred to turned out to be ambitious lawyers seeking any plaintiff who could advance their agenda in challenging Texas state law on abortion. By the time the case reached the Supreme Court, McCorvey had already given birth to the baby in question. This baby was put up for adoption.

Ironically, McCovery never did get the abortion she initially wanted to. And yet, she “a symbol of the right to a procedure that she herself never underwent”.

“I was sitting in O.R.’s offices when I noticed a fetal development poster. The progression was so obvious, the eyes were so sweet. It hurt my heart, just looking at them. I ran outside and finally, it dawned on me. ‘Norma’, I said to myself, ‘They’re right’. I had worked with pregnant women for years. I had been through three pregnancies and deliveries myself. I should have known. Yet something in that poster made me lose my breath. I kept seeing the picture of that tiny, 10-week-old embryo, and I said to myself, that’s a baby! It’s as if blinders just fell off my eyes and I suddenly understood the truth — that’s a baby!

I felt crushed under the truth of this realization. I had to face up to the awful reality. Abortion wasn’t about ‘products of conception’. It wasn’t about ‘missed periods’. It was about children being killed in their mother’s wombs. All those years I was wrong. Signing that affidavit, I was wrong. Working in an abortion clinic, I was wrong. No more of this first trimester, second trimester, third trimester stuff. Abortion — at any point — was wrong. It was so clear. Painfully clear.”

Norma McCorvey has co-written two autobiographies, I Am Roe (1994) and Won by Love (1997) detailing her journey from a 21-year-old single mother of two seeking an abortion for her third child to becoming the reluctant star plaintiff in a legal case that forever changed the course of history to finally undergoing a life-changing event that made her the staunch pro-life activist she is today. She has worked at organisations like Operation Rescue and now runs her own pro-life ministry – Crossing Over Ministry.

About SingaporeLDW

Breaking the authority of chaos...
This entry was posted in Abortion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

